Adult Literacy

Chrystella Wälchli works with Literacy Evangelism International (LEI) in India. LEI is committed to adult education by creating reading books for adults. The structure of the textbook is adapted to the respective circumstances of an ethnic group.
This means that they must not only translate existing primers for their language but most also study local language peculiarities such as: Which letters are found most frequently? Are there specific sounds in the language? What are the typical objects of daily life in this language? For example, if goats play an important role in the tribe’s culture, “goat” should be integrated in the first few lessons
Here’s an interesting fact: In many uncommon languages – also outside the Christian cultural circle – a translation of the Bible (or at least parts of it), is the only written document available. Based on this Bible, the relative frequency of individual sounds and letters can be defined. This knowledge is then integrated into the design of the textbook. The success rate with this method is high because adults can actually use the experienced reading in their daily life.
The Foundation SSP finances the project LEI regularly, supporting follow-up seminars where teachers are introduced into the practice of the textbook.

Comments are closed.

Lesefibeln

Chrystella Wälchli arbeitet mit Literacy Evangelism International (LEI) in Indien. LEI produziert Lesefibeln für die Alphabetisierung von Erwachsenen. Der Aufbau der Fibel ist den jeweiligen Lebensumständen einer Volksgruppe angepasst.
Das heisst, es werden nicht einfach bestehende Fibeln für eine neue Sprache übersetzt, sondern zuerst werden die lokalen Spracheigenheiten studiert. Welche Buchstaben kommen am häufigsten vor? Gibt es eigenständige Laute in der Sprache? Was sind typische Gegenstände des täglichen Lebens? Spielen zum Beispiel Ziegen eine wichtige Rolle in einem Stamm, dann werden die ersten Buchstaben so gewählt, dass das Wort Ziege schnell geformt werden kann.
Hier noch ein interessantes Detail: In vielen marginalen (vom Aussterben bedrohten) Sprachen – auch ausserhalb des christlichen Kulturkreises – ist eine Bibelübersetzung oder zumindest Teile davon das einzige Schriftgut. Anhand dieser Bibel lässt sich die relative Häufigkeit einzelner Laute und Buchstaben festlegen. Dieses Wissen geht dann in die Konstruktion der Fibel ein. Die Erfolgsquote ist mit dieser Methode besonders hoch, da Erwachsene das Lesen in ihrem Alltag anwenden können.
Die Stifung SSP unterstützt das Projekt LEI regelmässig. Mit dem Geld werden die Löhne der Lehrpersonen und der Supervisoren finanziert.